Schar, a European maker of gluten-free foods, is set to release its newest product in March: gluten-free croissants. These croissants contain certified gluten-free wheat starch, which the FDA now allows (new labeling law as of August 2014) as an ingredient in gluten-free foods, as long as it registers under 20 ppm. According to the Schar website:
Certified gluten free wheat starch has been used in Europe for many years. The safety has been documented in several research studies where individuals with celiac disease consuming wheat starch had comparable results to those consuming a naturally gluten free diet. There was no adverse effect of adding certified gluten free wheat starch to the diet of individuals with celiac disease.
Also according to the Schar website, the process by which starch is made from the wheat removes the protein that effects people who suffer from Celiac. For this reason, it’s supposedly complete safe for Celiacs and other gluten-intolerant people. Gluten-free wheat starch apparently gives gluten-free foods in which its used an improved texture and quality.